Taku’s Top 20 Anime OPs Part VI: #2

p6yo7oy

(Check out #20-16#15-11#10-6#5#4, and #3)

(All videos taken from reddit.com/r/animethemes)

#2: Sore wa Bokutachi no Kiseki – μ’s (Love Live! School Idol Project)

I adore the Love Live franchise. It’s become my personal favorite franchise and it is a franchise that has had no small effect on my life since watching it. Love Live has made me new friends, given me a newfound passion the level of which I had never experienced in anime, and re-ignited a lifelong passion that has turned into what I want to do with my life. I can’t state enough how much Love Live has impacted my life and the music is such a huge part of how much it has impacted with me. Bokura wa Ima no Naka de and Aqours’ Aozora Jumping Heart are both fantasic openings in their own right, but nothing from Love Live can match up to the second season’s opening, Sore wa Bokutachi no Kiseki for me. It encapsulates everything that makes Love Live amazing and has that uplifting mood and emotions that the series carries throughout its run.

The visuals for the opening sequence feature a mix between the CG animation, love it or hate it, that Love Live has become known for and traditional animated sequences. I’ve never really minded Love Live’s CG that much and I feel SoreBoku is one of the better examples of CGI done well throughout the course of the series. The models are in line and fit with the anime’s artstyle and aren’t as blatant to the eye as say Start:Dash!! from Season 1. The small character intro clips during the verse and pre-chorus are mostly animated versions of images that were used as cover art for the first season’s Blu-Ray covers, which are appealing especially to a fan of the franchise. The CG dance sequences are memorable in their own right and appeal to the eye with great use of differing camera angles.

Moving onto the audio side of the OP, it’s easy to see my personal bias towards this opening sequence. Sore wa Bokutachi no Kiseki has long been one of my favorite μ’s songs and instantly grabs the listener in with Honoka’s “Saa yume wo” making for a memorable intro that is immediately recognizable to fans of the franchise. As the voices of the other cast members slowly join in, the opening explodes into the instrumental intro before moving into a driving, melodic verse. While the song mostly features group singing as opposed to group vs. individual segments, the verse has a great flow with each line flowing smoothly into the next. The lyrics of the song are as inspiring and uplifting as any from the series, with themes of moving forward and achieving your dreams. This overall theme of looking to the future and reaching for it is something that is very common throughout Love Live and it’s one of the things that has drawn me so much to this franchise.

This was probably the toughest decision I had to make for the entire list. Love Live as a franchise has become such a major, unquestionable part of my life and it has had such a major impact on my life that everything in the series is special to me. If you had asked me a month ago what my favorite OP is, I would have answered Sore wa Bokutachi no Kiseki without a doubt. But, alas, something has come along since then that has de-throned the Love Live! 2nd Season OP. Stay tuned to find out what that is…

To Be Continued Sunday Evening

With #1

Leave a Reply

