Taku’s Top 15 Anime: #11

#15: Selector Infected/Spread WIXOSS

#14: Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

#13: Ouran High School Host Club

#12: Shakunetsu no Takkyuu Musume

67177l

#11: Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso

(Spoilers ahead, you have been warned)

So, #11 is the start of a trend you’ll notice among a handful of shows that hold a spot within my top 10 anime: I really like music and music anime. Shigatsu is probably the most feels-heavy musical entry as far as central themes go, and it’s a visually and audibly breathtaking masterpiece that has a lot of really good themes executed throughout. With themes such as potential, what it means to be a prodigy, and even more serious themes of illness and death around every corner of this show, Shigatsu is the kind of show that will take you on a joyride if you get really invested in the show, which I obviously did very much. From Kousei’s dark and depressing backstory to Kaori’s illness carrying throughout the show as primary focus points for the show’s story, I found myself crying at plenty of times throughout the course of the series.

Shigatsu starts to get into the point of my Top 10 where there are a lot of different things I could praise about the show and go on at length about. The characters were all relatable for me, though I found myself relating with the more “side” characters of Tsubaki and Watari on a more personal level than that of Kousei and Kaori due to my own personal experiences in life. Each new character brought in had a purpose and had their own drive and desires that often came into conflict with those of the main cast. The show is visually gorgeous and there are a lot of things to be loved about the animation direction and art of the series. The music, as could be expected from a music-oriented anime, was breathtaking and there were a ton of beautiful pieces, both in the form of the show’s fantastic backing tracks and the renditions of classical music. On a production level, Shigatsu was a fantastic piece of work that is just as beautiful on the surface as it is in its messages.

Favorite Episode: Episode 17, “Twilight”

Okay, so I’ll be up front about this. I really liked Nagi. Something about Nagi’s character really clicked with me over the course of her time in the series and I ended up really liking the progression of her character development and her teacher-student relationship with Kousei. “Twilight” was one of the best episodes of this for me and I felt it was one of the biggest points of the series in terms of Nagi’s growth and, at the same time, Kousei’s. I absolutely adore the scene with Kousei and Nagi in the park at night, and Kousei says what is probably one of my favorite quotes from the entire series.

“You said you started playing piano for someone else, right? That’s when you’re able to play well. When you’ve shared those sounds with tons of people, when you’ve reached tons of people with those sounds, when your hearts come together…it might be that music transcends words.”

I absolutely adore this quote. It’s one of the most inspiring things I feel like I’ve ever heard out of anime and it’s a quote and an idea that has stuck with me to this day. It was definitely one of the crowning moments of the series and just an amazing example of what about Shigatsu is so special to me.

I have a lot of history with music myself. I played in the orchestra in my school district for almost ten years and sang in the choir for just a few years short of that. My mom and dad were always very musical and this might be why music anime touch me so much. Shigatsu was an emotional ride of an anime from start to finish, filled with interesting and dynamic characters, beautiful animation and music, and it has easily sealed its spot as one of my absolute favorites. They only get better from here and starting tomorrow, we enter into my Top 10!

(Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso can be streamed on Crunchyroll, Netflix, and Hulu with their premium subscription.)

To Be Continued Tomorrow With

Taku’s Top 15 Anime: #10

2 thoughts on “Taku’s Top 15 Anime: #11

Leave a Reply

