Taku’s Top 15 Anime: #10

#15: Selector Infected/Spread WIXOSS
#14: Higurashi no Naku Koro ni
#13: Ouran High School Host Club
#12: Shakunetsu no Takkyuu Musume
#11: Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso

50177l

#10: The Devil is a Part-Timer!

(Spoilers ahead, you have been warned)

Oh, boy, we start off the Top 10 with an absolute bang. It’s been about two and a half years since I first watched The Devil is a Part-Timer and since then, I have re-watched it several times. The show has grown to be one of my personal favorite comedies and it was an absolute treat that came to me by complete coincidence. I happened across it on Netflix one particular November afternoon and ended up binging it that entire weekend. It’s an amazing joyride of a comedy that is equally as spectacularly written and witty in both English and Japanese languages, since I did watch it in dub on my first time through. There’s a lot I loved about The Devil is a Part-Timer from the fun and hilarious characters to the premise that I still love to this day and has gotten me to check out several shows based on the concept, last season’s Gabriel DropOut in particular.

So, as I said, there are a lot of things I really loved about The Devil is a Part-Timer! and it’s really hard to narrow it down to a couple of particular points. The cast of characters was spectacular and it’s always interesting for me to see how the real-world sides of the characters differ from their original person. The prime example of this would definitely be the real-world Sadao Maou being an upstanding worker at the local MgRonald’s despite being a demon king in Ente Isla. On the opposite end of the spectrum, the hero Emilia goes from being a righteous hero from a humble background to coming off as stalking Maou and generally acting as the antagonist as Emi Yusa. The entire cast clicked with one another and the interactions were smooth and flowed together in both languages. While I could say tons about the show’s direction and soundtrack, I was personally really impressed with the show’s dub, personally considering it one of the highest quality dubs I’ve seen.

Favorite Episode: Episode 6, “The Devil Climbs the Stairway to School”

On the surface, this probably looks like a pretty odd choice for a “favorite episode”. It’s not one of the grand battle moments of the series, like the fight between Maou/Ashiya and Lucifer in Episode 5 or the battle with Sariel in Episode 12. Episode 6 is one of the most “slice-of-life” heavy episodes of the entire series, with Maou, Ashiya, Chiho and the group exploring Chiho’s school looking for a suspected portal to Ente Isla that Urushihara reported. After several instances of hijinx and comedic relief, the entire episode resolves with the hunt being a wild goose chase orchestrated by Urushihara to get the gang to find his PS Vita he left behind after moving into the “Devil’s Castle”. While it may not be the most exciting episode in the series, it’s one I can’t help but rewatch again and again whenever I need a good laugh. Every instance of comedic timing within the episode feels just right and the execution of the entire episode was superb for me. Urushihara ended up becoming my favorite character in the series for his laidback, almost trickster-like attitude and this episode was a great introduction to his human side as a part of the main cast.

There are a lot of things I love about The Devil is a Part-Timer. In terms of personal enjoyment alone, it would likely be rated even higher on the list than it is as it is a show that I have a ton of fun with every time I watch it. The characters are eccentric and charismatic, each having their own motives and personality that makes the combination of the different members of the cast each feel like a different experience. The comedic timing within the series is on-point and it is one of my go-to recommendations when someone asks me for a show that will just make them laugh. The Devil is a Part-Timer is a show I feel I haven’t talked about enough in the past for how many laughs and how much enjoyment the show has provided me.

(The Devil is a Part-Timer is available for streaming on Funimation, though only the first two episodes are available for free, Hulu with their premium subscription, and Netflix)

One thought on “Taku’s Top 15 Anime: #10

Leave a Reply

