Taku’s Top 15 Anime: #5

#15: Selector Infected/Spread WIXOSS
#14: Higurashi no Naku Koro ni
#13: Ouran High School Host Club
#12: Shakunetsu no Takkyuu Musume
#11: Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso
#10: The Devil is a Part-Timer!
#9: Hibike! Euphonium
#8: JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable
#7: Clannad + After Story
#6: FullMetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

76121l

#5: K-On! (Includes Season 2 and Movie)

(Spoilers ahead, you have been warned)

So, as I was first starting to get back into anime in 2014, I had heard good things about a little show about high school students forming a band called K-On. I saw the DVD in a local FYE, back when that chain was still around here, and I began to grow interested, asking for the DVD for Christmas as it wasn’t online for legal streaming anywhere at the time. After Christmas, I finally was able to start K-On and I was absolutely blown away. At the time, I had never felt myself grow so attached to a cast of characters and the show quickly rose to be my favorite anime for a short time after watching it. I absolutely love K-On, the characters are some of the most entertaining and memorable characters in anime and the show has a great theme of friendship and togetherness that has led to it being considered one of the pinnacles of moe anime. Let me tell you, K-On is as popular as it is for good reason.

The characters are all fantastic. Yui is a ditzy goofball that makes everything fun and every episode a joy to start, Mio provides a lot of level-headed groundedness that meshes well with the aloof nature of the other members of the cast, with Azusa later providing an in-between for the two sides of the Light Music Club. The animation is soft and comfy while also being absolutely amazing at times. The show has a really great ability to make the viewer’s emotions in tune with the characters, laughing at the silly things Yui and Ritsu do and also crying their eyes out at some of the later moments in the series (S2, Episode 24 ;~;). Of course, I have to mention that the music of the show is absolutely fantastic. Each insert is amazing and catchy and the show’s themes are some of the best in the medium. I’ve already talked about Go Go Maniac in my Top 20 OP ranking and when I eventually do an ED ranking, I’ll have a lot more to say about the second season’s fantastic ED, Listen!!

Favorite Episode: Season 2 Episode 24, Graduation Ceremony

How…How could I possibly pick another episode of K-On for my favorite episode? The emotions I felt when watching this episode have made it one of my absolute favorite episodes of any anime. To this day, Tenshi ni Furetayo, and especially the scene accompanying it, will make me cry on command. It’s such a sad yet happy end and then it was re-done within the movie. The lyrics and the shots of each member singing and each member taking one part of the verse and lead-in is too much for me. I cried rewatching the scene in order to write this part and I am completely proud to admit that. The way Azusa breaks down and begs the seniors not to graduate kills me and leaves me a wreck and Tenshi ni Furetayo just finishes the job. I’ve rarely had a single episode hit me as emotionally hard as this one and it’s just the icing on the cake of why K-On is such a fantastic series for me. It’s the perfect way to wrap up a special experience.

I love K-On more than I could ever put into words. It’s one of the most amazing anime I’ve ever seen and it’s such a special thing to experience. The second season does such a fantastic job to build on what the first had accomplished and makes it one of the best two-cour seasons I’ve ever seen and maybe ever will see. It’s a perfectly realized image of the daily lives of high school girls and there is so much more I could say about K-On, but it is such a special series to me I’d never be able to say enough. K-On earns an easy entrance into my #5 and I can almost guarantee it’ll never leave my Top 5.

(K-On! is available for streaming on Hulu with their premium subscription, Viewster for free, and The Anime Network with the first episode available for free)

To Be Continued Tomorrow with

Taku’s Top 10 Anime: #4

One thought on “Taku’s Top 15 Anime: #5

Leave a Reply

