[Persona 4] Reaching Out to the Truth Pt. 1: Taku’s New Favorite Game

So, as opposed to my top anime ranking and its fluidity, my top games of all time has changed very little over the years. I haven’t played a game that has cracked my Top 3 games of all-time in a little over three years with Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney: Trials and Tribulations. While I’m always finding new games that I love, none have managed to have the same impact on my overall rankings in the same way my anime ranking changes. My favorite game of all time, Tales of Symphonia, had remained in that position for a little over ten years and I never thought it would be passed in my mind by anything…until this past month. I have recently been playing, and just last night finished, a game that has had more of a profound impact on me from a surface, emotional, and personal level than anything I’ve ever played before. As those who know me can tell (and as the title of this post gives away, that game is…

shin-megami-tensei3a-persona-4-full-1222242

Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4 Golden

I’ve actually owned my copy of Persona 4 Golden on the PlayStation Vita for a couple years now, but had never gotten around to playing it more. It sat on my shelf for far too long and looked to possibly be relegated to the same status many of my games had, never to be completed. I only recently thought to pick up Persona 4 three weeks ago after hearing my roommate rave about Persona 5, as he had recently picked up the game and he is a big fan of the Persona franchise. It’s rare that a game has gripped me and kept me entranced at the same level of Persona 4 and the game went above and beyond to impress me on every level. However, the game did more than just that, as it has touched on many of my personal beliefs and made me re-assess some values I hold dear to my heart. This post is going to be short and sweet, serving more as an introduction and lead-in to the posts to come. Throughout the next several posts, we’re going to take apart Persona 4 and talk about several different elements of the game that have played into my newfound love for the game and interest in the franchise. Look forward to the first post in the series, wherein I’ll talk about the characters featured within the game and how each of them managed to charm and win me over throughout the course of the game. Stay tuned because we’re in for quite a ride!

To Be Continued In

Reaching Out to the Truth Pt. 2:

The Scooby Gang

One thought on “[Persona 4] Reaching Out to the Truth Pt. 1: Taku’s New Favorite Game

Leave a Reply

