Takuro’s Top 20 Anime EDs Part V: #4

unknown1

(Missed the rest of the countdown? Check out #20-16#15-11#10-6, and #5)

Taku’s Top 20 Anime EDs (As of 6/2/2017)

Part V: #4

(Video taken from reddit.com/r/animethemes)

#4: Yuubae Present – Cinderella Project (The iDOLM@STER Cinderella Girls)

So, as you’ll learn from seeing the rest of this list, I am an absolute sucker for music, and in particular idol, anime. The music and themes from these kinds of shows appeal to me on a very core level, playing to my appreciation for hard work and ambition as centrally focused themes. In this respect, I am also very outside of the norm when it comes to the iDOLM@STER Cinderella Girls, being a huge fan of the anime and holding it among my personal favorites of all time for anime. I adored the music of Cinderella Girls and I felt there were a plethora of fantastic tracks to come out of both the anime and the project as a whole. In particular early on, I especially fell in love with the show’s first ED, Yuubae Present. The visuals were simple and appealing and the music featured within became one of my personal favorite songs to come out of the Cinderella Project. There’s a lot of things I really like about Yuubae Present as both a sequence and a song, so let’s get right into it.

The visuals of Yuubae Present are simple and understated, which lends to the gorgeous artstyle and filter effects used over the various candid shots of the main cast of Cinderella Girls. Each frame features a different combination of the different members of the cast in various casual situations, such as Mika, Rika, and Miria heading to the subway from work or Riina and Mio hanging out at an arcade. The shots are simple but carry a lot of each character’s personality within their facial and bodily expressions. Mio’s genki nature in the arcade carries through the wide smile across her face and the positioning of her body as she watches Riina and Kirari is shown tending to Anzu as the two eat, displaying the close-knit relationship between the two girls. The sequence ends with Uzuki and Rin parting ways at the Shibuya flower shop with Uzuki’s bright, happy smile being put on full display as the ending closes. The visuals don’t do anything fancy or flashy, but they carry the cute and happy nature of the members of the main cast and it serves as a nice fluffy finish to each episode.

Now, while the ending’s visuals may be simple and understated, I can’t begin to express my adoration for Yuubae Present as a song. To begin, the ED’s use in each episode begins with the intro bleeding into the end of the episode, something I very much appreciate in endings. The vocals themselves are very appealing to me, featuring each different unit of the Cinderella Project over the course of the season and closing the season with the full group together in the final episode. They have a singsongy and upbeat flow that begs the viewer to sing along with the lyrics tinged with hope and just a bit of optimism and ambition here and there. The orchestral instrumentation puts the song over the top, providing a soft, driving melody that carries the vocals along, but never manages to overpower them. I don’t even know if I could accurately put it into words, but the biggest thing that Yuubae Present does right for me is emotion. It’s a song that naturally makes me happy when I listen to it and it always puts me in the right mood when I’m feeling down. If it’s the job and purpose of idols to make those they perform for happier, then Yuubae Present accomplishes that mission with aplomb.

To Be Continued In:

Taku’s Top 20 Anime EDs Part VI:

#3

3 thoughts on “Takuro’s Top 20 Anime EDs Part V: #4

Leave a Reply

