Taku’s Top 20 Anime EDs Pt. VII: #2

chrome_2017-06-29_19-26-11

(Missed the rest of the countdown? Check out #20-16#15-11#10-6#5#4, and #3)

Taku’s Top 20 Anime EDs (As of 6/2/2017)

Part VII: #2

(Video taken from reddit.com/r/animethemes)

#2: Hametsu no Junjou – Walkure (Macross Δ)

How appropriate it is that I would start a series of Walkure primers as I close in on my top ED with my number two coming to us from the second cour of Macross Δ. While reception to the second half of the anime’s run is mixed at best, I personally felt like the second half came with superior music as a whole and the second cour’s ending sequence, “Hametsu no Junjou”, is no exception. As an ending sequence, “Junjou” is bright, flashy and inherits a whole lot of flair and style from the show it accompanies. As a song, “Hametsu no Junjou” quickly became my personal favorite track from Walkure and it has been one of my most-listened songs since the full version released in the summer of 2016. I personally enjoyed the second half of Macross Δ despite the obvious flaws and I would still classify Δ as one of my personal favorite anime from last year, with a big part of my love for the series coming out of my newfound adoration for Walkure and their music. “Hametsu no Junjou” embodies no small part of what it is that I adored about both Δ and Walkure, so let’s get right into it.

As an ending sequence, the thing that immediately comes to mind is how the visuals for “Hametsu no Junjou” capture the eye. The sequence opens in the cockpit of one of the show’s iconic fighter-plane/mech, the “Valkyrie”, with wordmaps containing the words “Choice” and “Perplexity” flashing across the screen before it melts into a purplish vortex. From this vortex emerges the vision of stars in the sky. As the verses kick in, we see the exterior of the Valkyrie flying against a colorful star and aurora-laden sky. In the background, constellation-like images of the members of the cast fade in and out as the verse progresses. The visuals for both the Valkyrie and the images in the background are bright and colorful and really capture the eye, making for a memorable viewing experience and one that is instantly recognizable as Δ. “Hametsu no Junjou” is probably one of the best EDs on this list in terms of just being a visual spectacle, as the bright colors and interesting designs make it hard to look away from the sequence.

Now, if the visuals were good enough to earn “Hametsu no Junjou” a spot on this list, then the song chosen to accompany the visuals are the major reason “Junjou” takes the #2 spot on my list. To say “Hametsu no Junjou” is an amazing song for me would be an absolute understatement. This track was my absolute jam of the Summer of 2016 and it is a song that I could not stop listening to, no matter how many times I heard it. It would be a quick choice for me in any given “weeb karaoke” session in any of the Discord servers I’m in and there are a lot of reasons I fell in love with “Junjou”, which you’ll hear to more extent in my “Welcome to Walkure World” series. The instrumentals for the song are absolutely fantastic, with a mix of heavy synth during the verses and an high-flying, hype-inducing, and triumphant brass line carrying the song’s intro and chorus. The vocals are among the best from Walkure’s entire discography, with each member of Walkure given their own chance to shine. In particular, “Hametsu no Junjou” was the track that personally made me fall in love with the seiyuu for the singing voice of Mikumo, JUNNA. Her voice is incredibly powerful and carries the chorus with the same level of style and power as the instrumentation brings, making it a fantastic song from all angles in my opinion.

We’ve come a long way over the course of this list. We’ve hit a lot of amazing EDs, some I had forgotten how much I adored, some I adored even more than I realized. There are a lot of amazing choices that could have all finished high on this list for me personally, but in the end, there can only be one choice for my #1 ED. So, I suggest you listen for just a little while longer because we’ve nearly reached the moment you’ve been waiting for…

To Be Continued In:

Taku’s Top 20 Anime EDs, Pt. VIII:

#1

One thought on “Taku’s Top 20 Anime EDs Pt. VII: #2

Leave a Reply

